Synchronise SQL table with SharePoint List

Feb 11, 2009 at 3:53 AM
Hi

I am new to SSIS and currently using the Sharepoint List Adapters to attempt to synchronise a table in a sql database with a sharepoint list. Ideally I would like it to be able to sync both ways, but will be happy with the table being the source and the sharepoint list the destination (ie all modifications will be done outside of sharepoint)

I have successfully been able to populate a sharepoint list with the contents of the table using the destination adapter by 'igonoring' the ID field. With this approach everytime I run the package it will create a new row for each item, therefore creating duplicate entries. I have considered the option of first deleting all the rows in the Sharepoint list, but as I will be using the sharepoint list as a lookup to many other lists, this is not viable as the sharepoint id of the new items will be different.

I then configured the destination adapter to map the id from the table in the database to the Sharepoint id, but this then introduced its own problems. I was successfully albe to have it update items that had previously been added to the list with a matching id, but the id's of the items in the sql table will not always match the sharepoint id.

Also, if I was to use this method, When I added a new row to the table (and also updated a current row) and ran the package, an error occurred and did not create  the new item in the sharepoint list (the updated row was successfully updated in the sharepoitn list). I understand why this happended as was stated here: http://www.codeplex.com/SQLSrvIntegrationSrv/WorkItem/View.aspx?WorkItemId=8581 due to the fact the provided ID must exist, but I am unsure how to get around this?

Basically I want a Sharepoint list to be a duplicate of the database table, with the Sharepoint list able to the be used as a lookup in others lists in the Sharepoint site. This requires that the sharepoint item id be maintaned.